December 6, 2013 – Avian Friday: Winter Bandito

This weeks bird is the Townsend’s Warbler. I’m not really familiar with them and this is actually the first one I’ve ever seen. I didn’t realize we had them around here and was surprised to find it in the beginning of Winter. I always thought warblers didn’t show up until springtime. Last week I was out at one of my favorite local haunts photographing some Brown Creepers and Golden Crown Kinglets. I just happened to spot a pair of these Townsend’s up a ways in a nearby Oak Tree. They were a ways off and I didn’t really have time to put on a teleconverter to get a closer shot, so I rattled off as many shots as I could manage and came up with this one. The angle is not that great, but it will do for a first look at this cool little bird. Maybe if I’m lucky, they’ll winter over for a while and I might get another opportunity to capture them.

Townsend’s Warbler (Setophaga townsendi )

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Seattle, Washington
500mm | 1/3200th Sec. @f/6.3 | ISO 2000

Canon 1DX+ Canon EF 500/4L IS USM

Processed with Lightroom 4, Photoshop CS6, Nik ColorEfx.

To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

2 thoughts on “December 6, 2013 – Avian Friday: Winter Bandito

  1. Pingback: Some Sensational Photography Articles to Start The New Year With

Leave a comment