March 18th, 2016 – Avian Friday : Goldie

I’m  a little late with this weeks post, but lately I’ve been devoting a fair amount of time to get back into sketching and painting; something I did a lot of while in college, but in my professional career have gotten away from. Recently I viewed a painting tutorial that used a Goldfinch as the subject. It reminded me of some of the images I had previously taken, as well as some I’d wished I’d captured. In the coming weeks I might also give that a try in watercolor. Until then here is one of my Goldfinch shots from a while back.

American Goldfinch (Spinus tristis)

Redmond, Washington 
700mm | 1/3200th Sec. @f/5.6 | ISO 400
Canon 1D MkIII+ Canon EF 500/4L IS USM + 1,4X Rear Extender

Processed with Lightroom CC, Photoshop CC , Nik Define & ColorEfx Pro.

To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Leave a Reply

