February 26th, 2016 – Avian Friday: Winter’s Almost Gone

It looks like spring may just be on the horizon. Although you never really know this early here in the Pacific Northwest. Things are starting to bloom, but winter was really mild in terms of cold weather. I don’t think we even had any significant snow this year. With the advent of spring I thought I would post floral shot of an Anna’s Hummingbird. At least it started out as a photograph. I’ve done a lot of digital painting lately and recently downloaded a couple new iPad apps to take it a step further. One of them is ArtRage which is pretty awesome. I’ve been using the free apps on the iPad for the most part. Paper 53 is one that first got me started. Its got some cool features including an awesome watercolor brush and sketch pencil. The ArtRage program is a little costly at $5.99, but I think it worth it with its impressive feature set. I’m still getting familiar with it, but so far my favorite tools are the oil paint and pallete knife. I used the later to modify this photo to have  a painterly feel.

Annas Hummingbird (Calypte anna )

Seattle, Washington
Original image:

500mm | 1/3200th Sec. @f/6.3 | ISO 500

Canon 1D MkIII+ Canon EF 500/4L IS USM vI + EF 1.4x Rear Adapter

Processed with Lightroom CC & ArtRage for iPad.

To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

Leave a Reply

