January 1st, 2016: Avian Friday: It’ s All Good in the Hood

Happy New Year everyone!
I hope folks had a great holiday season. I enjoyed a well deserved break of two whole weeks from my main job. It was very relaxing, but I did not make it a priority to get outdoors for any bird photography. Hopefully that will change during the next several weekends as winter is prime time for several species of raptors here in the Pacific Northwest. I plan on making at least a few trips up to my favorite stomping grounds in Skagit Valley.
Here is a shot from my most recent outing at the University of Washington’s Montlake Fill. These Hooded Mergansers are fairly skittish birds that are difficult to approach for photography. I happened to stationary in their vicinity before I even realized they were there. I couldn’t physically get any closer to them even I wanted to because the small body of water I was right on the edge of. I added a 2X teleconverter to my 500mm lens to get a closer look at them.

Hooded Mergansers (Lophodytes cucullatus)

Seattle, WA
1000mm | 1/2400th Sec. @f/8 | ISO 640 | Tripod

Sony A7+ Canon EF 500/4L IS USM vI + EFS 2X Rear Extender Ver I + Commlite EF adapter

Processed with Lightroom & Photoshop CC.
To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,
JayT

Leave a Reply

