November 7, 2014 – Avian Friday: Waterfront Fine Dining

I’ve been having a lot of fun experimenting and developing various techniques for creating digital photo art so I’m including another rendering of this weeks bird image. I even downloaded a couple of trial software art programs to evaluate, but the effects being achieved and simplicity of processing these fairly quickly on the iPad has me second guessing the need to use a computer to create them.
This is another of my Bald eagle images taken last summer at Seabeck on Washington’s Hood Canal. The eagle had just snatched up a small Sculpin fish for a meal in the shallow water along the shoreline.

Bald Eagle (Haliaeetus Leptocephalus )
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Seabeck, Washington
1000mm | 1/1250th Sec. @f/9| ISO 1600

Canon 5D MkIII+ Canon EF 500/4L IS USM + 1.4X Rear Extender

Processed with Lightroom Mobile, Google Snapseed and Filterstorm.

To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

One thought on “November 7, 2014 – Avian Friday: Waterfront Fine Dining

  1. I really like this image and what you’ve done with the processing of it! This is the kind of treatment I like to give my images and I’ve been doing the same thing as you for the past couple of weeks…trialing painting software on my desktop and playing with painting apps on my iPad. I haven’t yet found a workflow that doesn’t end up back on my desktop for the final image, tho. Wet in wet watercolor is one of my favorite looks, and your background here could be just that. Would you mind me asking which app/software you used for the background? I have apps that will give me something similar, but you only listed LR, Snapseed and Filterstorm. The only one I’m not familiar with is Filterstorm, does it have a filter that does that, if not did you run it through another app first, or did you drop the already processed background in? I think in a previous image you also used PS… Hope you don’t mind the questions. In any event, I wanted to let you know how much I liked your image. 🙂

Leave a Reply

