December 20, 2013 – Floral Friday: Tis The Season?

So the song goes – “tis the season to be jolly,…” Well, for some of us, not so much. 😦
I’m taking a departure from my normal posts of bird images this week to honor a very important family member that left us yesterday . My auntie: Nonnette Remember Johnson, age 89, passed away peacefully in her sleep on Dec. 19, at the “Our House” Assisted Living Residence in River Falls, Wisconsin.
Although I didn’t know her well, I know she was a lot like her sister (my mom) a very loving, compassionate, and unselfish person. When my mom moved out west to Seattle she only went back to Wisconsin to visit once, many years ago and hadn’t returned since. She did keep in touch with Nonnette and other sister Enid. I remember that auntie Nonnette or “Fisty” as she was called, would always write letters to us. Enid came out to visit my mom a couple times which was a real treat since they hadn’t Seen each other in 40 years. “Fisty ” never made it out this way but always stayed in touch with us even after my mom passed in 2007.
I knew that auntie Nonnette was getting up in age the past several years and I kept telling myself I needed to get to Wisconsin to finally meet her. Towards the end of the summer I made up my mind that I wouldn’t let this winter come without making the trip. In October I had a site visit to Edmonton, Alberta for work and it was the perfect opportunity to spend the prior weekend in Minnesota and Wisconsin to meet most of my relatives and most importantly to see both of my aunties. My cousins Jan and Dave Nelson were very gracious hosts who took me in for the weekend, brought me to and from the airport and gave me a whirlwind tour around Minnesota and Ellsworth, Wisconsin where my mom and aunties grew up. When we arrived at the party they had for “Fisty” and Enid at their assisted living facility in River Falls, aunt “Fisty was overwhelmed with tears of joy to see me.
Earlier this week I started writing a letter that I had hoped to send her, but just before finishing it yesterday I received the very sad news of her passing. Even though our time together was short, I really treasure the opportunity to meet her as well as the rest of my cousins and their families who all made me feel so welcome.
It’s a blessing that auntie passed peacefully in her sleep and that she now is at perfect peace . I’m praying that my cousins Connie, Ruth, Lindel, Gail, Paul, Betty, Bonnie, Jan, Dave and their families will be comforted by our Heavenly Father as they mourn the loss of our beloved Nonnette. I surely will always remember and keep her in my heart.

Flower for Fisty

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Redmond , Washington;
500mm | 1/1600th Sec. @f/6.3| ISO 500
Canon 5D Mark III + Canon EF 500/4L IS USM

Processed with Lightroom 4, Photoshop CS6, Nik Analog Efex.

To see larger versions please click on the images.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

IMG_1344.JPG

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

Leave a Reply

