May 10th, 2013 a Avian Friday: Tree Swallow

Now is the time of year when I usually get pumped up for getting out to do some serious bird photography. The only problem is now this thing called work has severely limited my time to strictly being able to shoot only on the weekends. But in my case that is a good thing, especially since I’m back working in the career I was trained and have my college degrees in.:)

Anyway, here is another shot from my last outing a couple of days before returning to the office. The Swallows are out in good numbers and always fascinating to watch their aerial acrobatics. I didn’t try for any flight shots that day, but this little fella was perched nicely within range so I tried to position myself to include a decent background to take advantage of its pose. These swallows nest primarily in the cavities of trees as well as in nest boxes. If I have a chance to get out this weekend, I might see if I can manage some in-flight action and some other species of Swallows.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Tree Swallow (Tachycineta bicolor )
Seattle Washington 
700mm | 1/320th Sec. @f/10.0 | ISO 400

Canon 1D Mark III+ Canon EF 500/4L IS USM + EFS 1.4X Rear Extender

Processed with Lightroom 4, Photoshop CS6, Nik Software Suite.

To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

Leave a Reply

