April 26th, 2013 – Avian Friday: Rock Sandpiper

It’s been too long since I’ve had a chance to get out to capture any new bird imagery. Now that we have some fabulous spring weather here in the Pacific Northwest, I’ve run out of excuses and paid a visit to my old nearby stomping grounds at the U of W’s Montlake Fill. I got a late start so the light was becoming harsh, but I managed to find this little guy near the main pond. He didn’t seem to be very skittish as I was able to get fairly close to without spooking him. As with most of my waterfowl and shorebirds shots I wanted to get as low of an angle as possible. So taking the big lens off the monopod and getting down and dirty near the shoreline was the order of the day. Of course I got wet and dirty, but it was worth it to capture this pretty little bird.

Rock Sandpiper (Calidris ptilocnemis)

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Seattle Washington 
700mm | 1/800th Sec. @f/8.0 | ISO 640

Canon 1D Mark III+ Canon EF 500/4L IS USM + EFS 1.4X Rear Extender

Processed with Lightroom 4, Photoshop CS6, Nik Software Suite.

To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

One thought on “April 26th, 2013 – Avian Friday: Rock Sandpiper

Leave a Reply

