April 18th, 2012: Low Glow

Almost immediately after my day-long class was over I was captivated by the beautiful Spring skies we experienced here in Seattle on Saturday afternoon. I made a couple of architectural snapshots of the campus on the iPad and decided that wherever we were going for dinner that evening that I definitely had to bring a camera along.  I had no idea that there was a minus tide,  but I was anticipating the possibility  of  special sunset with the types of clouds present throughout most of the day. Surprisingly, this  beach had but a few people exploring it off in the distance and I decided to scout a vantage point to capture the scene during the blue hour.  I made several exposures beforehand (including these) while the sun occasionally dipped behind the clouds. For one reason or another the sky-reflected light show I’d hoped for after sunset never materialized, so I was glad to have made a few images beforehand even if they were directly into the sun. Usually I try to keep my HDR imagery a little more on the subdued or realistic side, but as I began processing this one it started to take on a life of its own and I just went with the flow.

Seattle, Washington

Canon 5D Mark II+ Rokinon 14mm/f2.8

3-Exposure HDR, Lightroom 3, Photomatix Pro, Photoshop CS5, onOne Perfect Effects.


To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations. Thanks for stopping by, JayT

One thought on “April 18th, 2012: Low Glow

Leave a Reply

