October 11th, 2011: Grand Viewpoint

I can’t believe that it has taken 50 plus years to make my first visit to Grand Canyon.I made the drive up from Sedona on Sunday afternoon during my weekend visit to Arizona. My only regret is that I did not do my homework beforehand to learn more about the area and it’s abundance and scale of opportunities. I ended up with but a couple of hours of sunset at the Mather Point Overlook. I had previously seen a few images of the Canyon on the web, but I was not really ready for the sheer magnificence I experienced as I approached the edge of the South Rim. It was pretty overwhelming and I was not able to even take an image for the first ten minutes I was there. This is definitely one of the places that should be high on anyones bucket list. I’m looking forward to several more return visits.

View of  Yaki Point at The Grand Canyon.  Arizona

Sony NEX 5N, 18-55mm,  f/4.5-5.6, 18mm, 2 Exposure H DR @ f13,  ISO 100, Hand-held, Aperture Priority Mode.  Post processing – iCamera HDR, Filterstorm for iPad.
To see a larger versions  please click on the image.
Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.
Thanks for stopping by,
JayT
Leave a Reply

