July 16th, 2011 – Fishin’ Fool

A lot of people chuckle when I tell them to look me up as “Sirfishalot”, but I chose that nickname for my Twitter handle because it had been given to me by my brother-in-law almost twenty years ago. He introduced me to salmon fishing and I had been hooked ever since.  In those early days I used to fish almost every weekend whether it was salmon, steelhead, fly-fishing and other types of game fish. Some of you might be old enough to remember the famous Seattle rapper – Sirmixalot. My brother-in-law  used to say that I fished so much he was going to start calling me Sirfishalot. So it kind just stuck with me even though I don’t fish anywhere near as much as I used to. But I still enjoy it immensely. Especially when the King Salmon are migrating through our “backyard” in Puget Sound. There nothing quite like having a 15-30 pound fish on the end of your line and you are hanging on for dear life for a wild ride, always wondering if you’ll be able to bring the fish to the net. For the next few months I’ll be out there chasing  them. Maybe I’ll have a few images to share.

View of a Steelhead Trout (captive).  Lacey, Washington


Canon EOS 40D,  Minolta Rokkor 58mm/f1.2, 58mm,  f/2.8, 1/320th Sec, ISO 1600, Hand-held. Post processing -Lightroom 2, Photoshop CS3, onOne Phototools.

To see a larger version  please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

Leave a Reply

