June 19th, 2011 – Gunnera Tinctoria

Happy Fathers Day to all you dads and granddads! I don’t have a lot of memories of time spent with  my Dad as he passed away when I was quite young.  But I  do know that he was a spirit-led,  good, hardworking man and I try to honor him  by the way I live my life.

After shooting this plant I had been hesitant to share the image because I didn’t know anything about its species and really didn’t have a clue about how to look it up on the web.  So I sent a copy to a colleague I that I had worked with on  the Cityscape Phoenix  project last year.  Eric Higbee is a landscape architect and a great guy. He was able to offer a quick ID on the plant for me . I had seen and photographed the leaves of this plant before, but this was the first time I’d seen the flowering part of it.

View of a Chilean Rhubarb Plant. Seattle, Washington


Canon 5D MkI, Mamiya 645 200/f2.8 , 200mm @ f5.6, 3-Exposure HDR, ISO 100, Manual mode, Hand-held. Lightroom 3, Photoshop CS5, onOne Phototools.


To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

2 thoughts on “June 19th, 2011 – Gunnera Tinctoria

  1. Pingback: Friday Photo Spots & On The Rocks | The Perfect Sunset

Leave a Reply

