May 4th, 2011 – Urban Oasis

The Washington Park Arboretum has always been one of my favorite places to go to in Seattle. It is a 230 acre botanical garden park located near the shore of Lake Washington and the University of Washington campus. It has many species of trees and plants, birds and waterfowl as well as an ornamental Japanese Maple garden. It’s an awesome place to spend time on a walk  and if you are a nature lover like I am there is always  interesting sights to see and make images of. Long before I got interested in photography I remember my Mom taking us there as kids. As she herself had grown up on a farm, I think that the Arboretum was a place she looked at as a natural refuge within the city.  After her passing in 2007, it was one of the first places I went to reflect on the impact that she had on my life.

This image was taken near the Graham Visitors Center in the Park.  The stairway is one of the main connection points between the forested/planted areas and the adjacent wetlands area. I had traversed the staircase on several occasions, but this was one of the first times I had stopped to take photographs of it. The late afternoon sun filtering through the trees at the top of the stair captured my attention and I  tried to capture that in this image. If you are a resident you probably are already familiar with this park. If you’re visiting from out-of-town it’s definitely a place worthy adding to your to see list.

View of  the Staircase to Azalea Way Trail at the Washington Park Arboretum .  
Seattle, Washington


Canon 5D MkI, Rokinon 14mm /f2.8, 14mm @ f5.6, ISO 100, Hand-held. HDR – 3 Exposures, Lightroom 3, Photoshop CS5, Photomatix Pro 4, Topaz Adjust.

To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

4 thoughts on “May 4th, 2011 – Urban Oasis

Leave a Reply

