March 29th, 2011 – Last Call

A few weeks back I took some images at Union Station with the Canon S95 including some overall shots of the “Great Hall”, but all of those sets of brackets were handheld and there isn’t much control over the auto-bracketing function.  It’s also limited to 3 exposures unless its set up on a tripod using manual mode.  Not quite satisfied with what I had to work with on that visit, I returned there last week with the full frame camera and tripod setup. Only problem was that I had arrived close to closing time so I didn’t have a lot of time to shoot. I did have an idea of how I wanted to capture the hall. I had seen a panorama of the space posted on Wikipedia and thought that a HDR pano might make an interesting scene.  The expansive barrel vault of the space though might be more suited to a tilt/shift lens for panoramic work. I did manage to capture a couple of images I liked including this view of one of the vintage Oak benches.  And no sooner than I had set up for this shot the security guards announced that it was closing time. 

View of  The Great Hall at Union Station.   Seattle, Washington

Canon 5D MkI, Tamron SP Adaptall 17mm /f3.5 , 17mm @ f16, ISO 100, Manual mode, HDR – 5 Exposures, Tripod. Lightroom 3, Photoshop CS5, Photomatix Pro 4, onOne PhotoTools.

To see a larger version or please click on the image.
Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.
Thanks for stopping by,
JayT
2 thoughts on “March 29th, 2011 – Last Call

  1. Pingback: April 5th, 2011 – Almost Left Behind | Sirfishalot's Blog

Leave a Reply

