March 10th, 2011 – The Afterglow

Quite often I find myself processing a land or seascape  image prior to having a title for it and then struggling a bit to come up with something suitable. Such is the case as with this one. Even though I didn’t have  a title in mind ,  I do  remember well what my mood was when I took the image. The weeks earlier had been a struggle emotionally and the sunset that evening was rather calming. The last couple days I’ve been listening to the Grammy award-winning  album from 1979 by Bob James & Earl Klugh entitled “One On One.”  Immediately after turning to my iPod to browse a few titles,  I quickly found  the track  – “The Afterglow” and most appropriate as not only was the image was taken during the blue hour, but the song totally reminds me of the serenity I experienced that evening.

View Across Elliott Bay  from Pier 86. Seattle, Washington


Canon 5D MkI, Tamron SP Adaptall 17mm /f3.5 , 17mm @ f16, ISO 50, Manual mode, HDR -7 Exposures, Tripod. Lightroom 3.3, Photoshop CS3, Photomatix Pro 4, Topaz Adjust.
To see a larger version or please click on the image.
Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.
Thanks for stopping by,
JayT
6 thoughts on “March 10th, 2011 – The Afterglow

  1. Great use of the gray tone scale. The dark but detailed foreground elements give depth to the image, and the lighter tones of the land sweeping around the water make the image monumental.

Leave a Reply

