January 22nd, 2011 – Hear My Train A Comin

I haven’t been out shooting very much yet for the new year, but I have been out a couple of times with a new point-n-shoot camera that I received over the holidays. My previous digicam (Pentax W90) was great for macro work, but the lack of manual control I found disappointing. My wife got the Canon G12 for Christmas and I thought about taking her old G10 off her hands, but I really wanted something more compact that I could have with me all the time. I’d read good things about the Canon S95 and decided to trade the W90 for it. I haven’t been satisfied with any of the previous small cameras that I’ve owned for one reason or another, but realize that some of their limitations just have to be expected.  The Auto-Exposure Bracketing feature is nice for generating HDR images. It’s limited to 3 exposures, but you can expand that number using  EV compensation.  I just happened to spot this scene while  passing by it the other day while we had some decent light and decided to give the AEB function a try.  Oh and if you’re wondering about the title, I’m a big Jimi Hendrix fan and that song was one of the first things to come to mind . Its been quite a while since I’ve heard that one.
View of  The SODO Link Light Rail Station.  Seattle, Washington

Canon S95, 28mm,  f/8, 1/50 Sec,  ISO80,  Aperture Priority Mode. Hand-held. 3-Exposure HDR.  Post processing – Lightroom 2.5, Photoshop CS3.

To see a larger version or please click on the image.

Feel free to  comment below  if  you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

3 thoughts on “January 22nd, 2011 – Hear My Train A Comin

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention January 22nd, 2011 – Hear My Train A Comin « Sirfishalot's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

