December 15th, 2010 – Pink Night on the Town

I am really beginning to enjoy the PhotoTools editing package by onOne Software.  I’ve watched several of their online webinars since learning that my Twitter friend Brian Matiash has become their Curriculum & Education manager. I had played around with the free version of the software, but it had a limited set of filters. In addition to the wide range of effects, I love the degree of  degree of control that it offers in terms of applying and controlling the amount of effects to the image. This image is a sunset scene taken last summer. I had previously processed it  in HDR but was not very happy with the results. The pink glow seen on the buildings is not an effect from the program. As the sun dipped below the horizon it cast a color show across the skyline. PhotoTools allowed me to render the scene closer to how I remembered seeing it as well as how I want the image conveyed. They really are doing some great work over there at onOne and I highly recommend downloading their free trial versions of the software.
View of the Jack Block Park Pier on Elliott Bay. Seattle, Washington

Pentax K7, Pentax SMC FA* 80-200 /f2.8 , 105 mm, f/8, ISO 100, HDR -5 Exposures, Tripod. Post processing -Lightroom 2.5, Photoshop CS3, Photomatix Pro 4, onOne PhotoTools 2.5.
To see a larger version or please click on the image.
Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.
Thanks for stopping by,
JayT
Leave a Reply

