December 10th, 2010 – “Scrubbie”

For my nature loving friends I’ll be starting to post a birding image every Friday.  Although there are lots of  images in the archives I can share, this will also motivate me to get back out into the field and capture some new images. Today’s image is of a Western Scrub Jay. They are somewhat uncommon here in Pacific Northwest.  Earlier this spring was the first time I had seen them in the area. While easy to locate by their loud shrieking calls, they are not easily approachable and I had several unsuccessful attempts to get close enough to make a nice image of them. I had posted another image of this same bird in an earlier post. In this one I used a different processing technique shared by my good buddy and outstanding nature photographer Tim Kuhn. If you have  moment drop by his Facebook page and check out his work.
View of a Western Scrub Jay.  Seattle, Washington

Canon 1D Mark III,  Canon EF-500/f4 IS , 500mm, 1/250th Sec, f/5.6, ISO 250, Monopod. Post processing -Lightroom 2.5, Photoshop CS3.

To see a larger version or please click on the image.

Feel free to  comment below  if  you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

One thought on “December 10th, 2010 – “Scrubbie”

Leave a Reply

