September 16th, 2010 – BB Jazz Festival

This year I’ve tried to branch out into different areas of photography including HDR, landscapes, and people.  I flew down to SoCal last weekend to attend the  BB Jazz  Festival at Huntington Beach Central  Park. I’ve had a chance to shoot at some of the indoor concerts at home in Seattle, but I was super excited to  have the opportunity to bring the DSLR into this outdoor venue headlined by contemporary jazz superstars such as Maysa Leak, Walter Beasly, Joey Sommerville and my main man – Bob Baldwin. Since I was also packing the 500/4L  lens with me for wildlife shooting the following day, I was limited to the amount other gear I could bring with me. I initially considered renting an 80-200/2.8 IS, but instead just decided to go with the “money lens”, the 135/2L. I figured it paired with either the 1.4X or  2X extender would also almost cover the range of the zoom and I’d save a few bucks in the process. I had a great time seeing the artists perform and it was a treat to be able to capture some images of them. In this image I was able to get fairly close to the band and move around the stage freely. I didn’t have a speedlite so I had to pick my angles based on the direction of natural light while trying to also incorporate a pleasing background.  It sure would be nice to do this type of shooting more often.

View of keyboardist extraordinaire – Bob Baldwin.   Huntington  Beach, California

Canon 1D Mark III,  Canon EF 135/ f2L + EF 2XII extender , 270 mm,  f/4.5,  1/320 sec, ISO 125,  Handheld.  Post processing -Lightroom 2.5, Photoshop CS3

To see a larger version or please click on the image.

Feel free to  comment below  if  you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

Leave a Reply

