Friday March 9th, 2012 – Avian Friday: Miss Harrier

Even though I’ve still got several more Snowy Owl images yet to process and share, I thought I would mix it up a bit this week with another raptor image. It’s not often that I get a chance to see and get reasonably close to a Northern Harrier. Usually they are observed in flight searching for prey and are quite weary of people. I’m not sure if this female was resting after a meal or scoping out this field for her next victim.

Northern Harrier

Mount Vernon, Washington

Canon 1D Mark III+ Canon EF 500/4L IS USM  + EF 1.4X Rear Extender

Processed with Lightroom 3, Photoshop CS5.

To see a larger version please click on the image.

Feel free to comment below if you like what you see or have any other observations.

Thanks for stopping by,

JayT

3 thoughts on “Friday March 9th, 2012 – Avian Friday: Miss Harrier

Leave a comment